A Realisation

Is realisation spelled with an ‘s’ or a ‘z’? As a UK citizen, I have grown up with British spellings but what does confuse me is when the odd American spelling seeps into the language and I have no idea which one is correct. Even writing this paragraph, the word ‘realisation’ has a red zig-zag line underneath. I did also spell ‘spelled’ as ‘spelt‘ so maybe I am not the best person to be questioning the zig-zag. (It doesn’t even recognize zig-zag as a word!)

This is not the subject of this post though.

Over the past few weeks, I have come to a discovery. (No zig-zag yey!)
I have found out why I keep failing in my goals.
Why I am not where I would like to be right now.

It’s too much.

I have written before how I think I am making too many goals and that that might work for some people. Well it’s not that I am making too many, it’s the whole system of categorizing. I have been using Leonie Dawson’s Shining Life Workbooks and the way they work is you write down your goals in every category of your life, from creativity to travel to even family and friends. This means I was writing down every possible goal for every category. Paint this, budget that, D.I.Y this, plan that.

My mind doesn’t work this way.

I can’t juggle. Using this system felt like juggling and I was getting overwhelmed and upset at myself for not fulfilling goals.

Doesn’t help that I change my mind CONSTANTLY.

That painting I wanted to do back in 2010? Nah don’t want to do it anymore. That trip I wanted to take last summer? Nah I wanna do something else now.

It is important to have goals, but everyone works in different ways in achieving them and it has taken me 2-3 years to realise this.

Now all I am doing is writing down what I want to achieve, picking the priorities to work on at the moment, and discarding the stuff I don’t want to do anymore. That simple. And I don’t have to pay £30 for the piece of paper to write it on.

Leave a Reply

