Keeping Hydrated

One of my main goals for this year is to stay hydrated. I would be lying if I said I currently drink plenty of water. I do drink water, but not the recommended allowance.

cute_water_animals_by_crooty

All these cute animals love water. You and I should love water too! (Image by Crooty)

I was searching online and found out that everyone needs a different amount of water based on their weight and fitness levels, instead of the generic 8 glasses a day.

“It depends on your size and weight, and also on your activity level and where you live,” Nessler says. “In general, you should try to drink between half an ounce and an ounce of water for each pound you weigh, every day.”

As I don’t weigh that much, am not very active and live in a cooler climate, I calculated that I need around 6 x nine fluid ounce glasses of water a day. This is quite a bit of water than my body is used to so I can’t just dive straight in (pun alert!).

I have come up with a plan to drink a glass each day for one week, then 2 glasses for the next week, then 3 etc. until I reach 6 glasses that I will carry on for ever and ever and ever…

Rewards!

To reward myself I will allow myself to indulge in my favourite chocolate bar. Or a bunch of my favourite chocolate. Just chocolate. Full Stop. That is only if I have drank the right amount of glasses that week. If I haven’t, then I will give the chocolate bar away to a family member.

Start Date: Monday 4th January

I will try to keep this updated with my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

